Summary of the Laboratory Accreditation Body Expert Committee Meeting Tuesday, January 15, 2019

1. Welcome and Roll Call

The Chair, Carl Kircher, opened the meeting. Attendance is recorded in Attachment 1. The minutes of December 18, 2018, were approved. Carl reminded participants that they are expected to complete the committee member training on the TNI website at http://nelac-institute.org/eds/download/ChairTraining.php

NOTE: Aurora had said that she wished to become an associate member, but her email address no longer works and a brief online search for her indicates that she has taken a position as the General Manager of the City Of Lawrence, KS (instead of Water Quality Manager). She is no longer listed in the TNI Member database.

2. New Member Applications and Vote

Membership applications from Nilda Cox (Eurofins) and Nicholas Slawson (A2LA) were held over from the December meeting due to lack of a quorum for voting. With a quorum present at this meeting, Alia moved and Catherine seconded that both applications be accepted, and approval was unanimous. Welcome back, Nilda! Welcome, Nicholas!

The CSDEC Chair, Bob Wyeth, has approved both applicants for membership. This brings the stakeholder balance to three members each of the AB and lab categories with four of the "other" category.

3. Election of Officers

The Chair and Vice Chair positions are voted annually, per the Expert Committee Operations SOP 2-101.

Carl completed his second full term as a committee member, and we asked CSDEC to approve an extension for him so that he could complete the revision of the standards module and also to address any interpretation requests that arrive during the initial implementation of the new module in the coming year. Carl offered to continue serving as Chair and Alia moved and Catherine seconded that he be re-elected to the Chair position. Approval was unanimous. Congratulations, Carl!

The 2018 Vice Chair, Marlene Moore, was absent from the meeting and Carl noted that her schedule often conflicts with the LAB meeting time. Mei Beth nominated herself for Vice Chair, and there were no other nominations. Catherine moved and Bill seconded that Mei Beth be elected as Vice Chair and approval was unanimous. Congratulations, Mei Beth!

4. Approval of the Draft Revised Module

After two years of effort to revise the AB operations modules of Volume 2 of the TNI Standard, a complete revision was circulated by Carl after the December 2018 meeting, and committee members were asked to review it one final time. The outline of changes was also updated to reflect the final details reviewed at the December meeting, in anticipation of publishing the draft module for comments and feedback from the TNI community.

Since this is a "simple" publication to seek feedback and not the formally documented committee vote as required prior to the Voting Draft Standard (and any later votes that might be needed), a straightforward vote to approve was sought by the Chair. Mei Beth moved and Catherine seconded that the draft revised module be approved, and approval was unanimous.

Lynn noted that, with the illness of the CSDEC Program Administrator, she will find out what's needed to accomplish publication for comments, and ensure that publication takes place in timely manner.

5. Planning for LAB Committee Session in Milwaukee

This committee meets on Wednesday morning at conference. Carl plans to explain the TNI language changes to the ISO/IEC 17011 document and lead discussion of that using a PowerPoint presentation that was distributed to committee members with this meeting's agenda. Then, time permitting, he will also present the ISO PowerPoint about how the 2017 revision of ISO/IEC 17011 differs from the previous version (on which the TNI 2009 Volume 2 was based). A poll of committee members indicates that six full members will be present at conference.

6. Next Meeting

The next meeting will be Wednesday, January 30, 2019, at 8 am local time, during the TNI conference in Milwaukee. Teleconference capability will not be available.

The next teleconference meeting will be <u>**Tuesday, February 19, 2019, at 1:00 pm Eastern.</u>** An agenda and documents will be distributed prior to the meeting.</u>

LAB Expert Committee Roster

Name/Email	Term ends	Affiliation	Present?
William Batschelet Batschelet.william@epa.gov	12/31/2021 (2 nd term)	Other – US EPA R8, Lab QAO	Yes
Nilda Cox nildacox@eurofinsus.com	12/31/2021 (1 st term)	Lab – Eurofins Eaton Analytical LLC	No
Charles Hartke Charles.hartke@sgs.com	12/31/2020 (1st term)	Lab – SGS Accutest, Dayton, NY	No
Oommen Kappil okappil@emsl.com	12/31/2019 (1st term)	Lab – EMSL Laboratories, Inc.	No
Catherine Katsikis catherinekatsikis@gmail.com	12/31/2021 (2 nd term)	Other – Laboratory Data Consultants	Yes
Carl Kircher, Chair carl_kircher@flhealth.gov	12/31/2021 (3 rd term, extended)	AB – Florida Department of Health	Yes
Marlene Moore mmoore@advancedsys.com	12/31/2021 (2 nd term)	Other – Advanced Systems, Inc., Newark, DE	No
Zaneta Popovska zpopovska@anab.org	12/31/2021 (1st term)	Other – ANAB	Yes
Alia Rauf arauf@utah.gov	12/31/2020 (1st term)	AB – Utah Department of Health	Yes
Mei Beth Shepherd, Vice Chair mbshep@sheptechserv.com	12/31/2021 (2 nd term)	Other – Shepherd Technical Services	Yes
Nicholas Slawson nslawson@a2la.org	12/31/2021 (1st term)	AB – A2LA	Yes
Program Administrator: Lynn Bradley Lynn.Bradley@nelac-institute.org	N/A		Yes
Associate Members:	L	1	
Yumi Creason <u>ycreason@pa.gov</u>		AB – Pennsylvania	No
June Main jmain@dep.nyc.gov		Lab – NYC DEP	Yes
Bill Ray bill_ray@williamrayllc.com		Other – William Ray Consulting, LLC	No
Ilona Taunton Ilona.taunton@nelac-institute.org		Other – TNI Program Administrator	No