# Summary of the Laboratory Accreditation Systems Committee Meeting

### October 9, 2009

#### 1. Roll Call

Attendance is recorded in Attachment A.

The meeting of the TNI Laboratory Accreditation Systems Committee (LASC) was called to order by June Flowers, Chair, on October 9, 2009 at 12 noon EDT. The meeting was adjourned by 1:08 PM.

#### 2. Minutes

The September 11, 2009 minutes were approved. Ilona will distribute them for posting to the TNI website.

#### 3. Logo

LASC has selected the attached three pieces of artwork presented by Brooke Connor Design (Attachment B). A consistent TNI logo appears within each of these three seals: 1-NELAP AB, 2-NELAP Lab and 3-NEFAP. June will present these to TNI Director Jerry Parr for consideration.

## 4. LASC Membership

Membership was reviewed. Aaren Alger has replaced Dan Hickman as the NELAP Chairperson, but the committee has lost two other AB's: Jack McKenzie and Lew Denny effective November 2009. Dan Dickinson may represent both an AB and a PTP. EPA representative Marvelyn Humphrey and a lab representative Dale Piechocki, have asked to step down. Although there are six lab representatives remaining, participation is inconsistent by members. This will be reported to the TNI Director for recruiting consideration.

LASC current representation is 14 including TNI Program Administrator Ilona Taunton:

- 2-Accrediting Bodies + 1-non NELAP AB
- 2-PT Providers
- 6-Laboratories
- 2-Other Governmental Agencies

#### 5. Standard Interpretation Requests (SIRs)

The status of the Standard Interpretation Request process was discussed. Ilona explained how the inquiries are stripped of the individuals personal ID and forwarded to the Expert

Committee selected by June and Aaron. She then responds to the inquirers with a letter. Dale expressed that the process is taking too long, and that LASC members should be more involved. Ilona concurred and replied that now that the standards have been adopted the process should move quicker. There are several new responses received from the NELAP Board that will soon be posted on the website. The committee agreed that in order to keep the LASC members informed of the inquiry issues, a change to the process will be made effective with the next final response received from an Expert Committee. LASC will be sent the same email that gets forwarded to the NELAP Board for final approval. If an LASC member wishes to comment on the response, they may reply to the committee, otherwise, the SIRs will now be briefly reviewed on our monthly conference calls.

## 5. Next Meeting

The next meeting will be via conference call on Friday, November 13, 2009, at noon EDT.

The LASC will meet in Chicago on Wednesday, January 27<sup>th</sup> 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.

The meeting was adjourned.

# Attachment A PARTICIPANTS

# TNI LABORATORY ACCREDITATION COMMITTEE

Member	Affiliation	Contact Information
Ann Marie Allen - present	Massachusetts, Non-nelap AB	T: 978-682-5237 x333 E: ann.marie.allen@state.ma.us
Aaren Alger – absent	Pennsylvania DEP	T:
Jo Ann Boyd – present	Southwest Research Institute, Lab	T: 210-522-2169 E: jboyd@swri.org
Lance Boynton - absent	Absolute Standards, Inc., PT	T: 203-281-2917 E: lanceboynton@mac.com
Carol Barrick - absent	FCC Environmental	T: 813-361-6911 E: cabarrick@msn.com
Brooke Connor – absent	USGS	T: 303-236-1877 E: bfconnor@usas.gov
Lewis Denny - absent	Florida DOH, AB	T: 904-791-1587 E: lew_denny@doh.state.fl.us
George Detsis - present	Department of Energy, Government	T: 301-903-1488 E: george.detsis@eh.doe.gov
Dan Dickinson - present	New York DOH, AB	T: (518) 485-5570 E: dmd15@health.state.ny.us
June Flowers – Chairperson present	Flowers Chemical Laboratories, Inc., Lab	T: (407) 339-5984 x212 E: june@flowerslabs.com
Terri Grimes - absent	Pinellas County Utilities, Municipal Lab	T: 727-5822302 E: tgrimes@co.pinellas.fl.us
Marvelyn Humphrey – absent	USEPA Region 6, EPA	T: 281-983-2140 E: humphrey.marvelyn@epa.gov
Roger Kenton - present	Eastman Chemical Company,	T: 903-237-6882 E: rogerk@eastman.com
Judy Morgan - present	Environmental Science Corporation, Lab	T: 615-773-9657 E: jmorgan@envsci.com
Dale Piechocki- present	Underwriters Laboratories, Inc., Lab	T: (574-472-5523 E: dale.r.piechocki@us.ul.com
Ilona Taunton – present	TNI Program Administrator	T: 828-894-3019/828-712-9242 E: tauntoni@msn.com

# Attachment B - TNI SEALS SELECTED BY LASC OCTOBER 2009





