Summary of the Laboratory Accreditation Committee Meeting June 8, 2007

1. Roll call.

The regular meeting of the TNI Laboratory Accreditation Systems Committee (LASC) was called to order by June Flowers, Chair, on June 8, 2007, at 11:00 p.m. EST. Attendance is recorded in Attachment A.

2. Previous minutes

Minutes from the May 11, 2007, meeting were reviewed and approved for posting on the TNI website.

3. Email regarding laboratory director qualifications

June asked for volunteers to address the email forwarded by Jerry Parr concerning a question on laboratory director qualifications. JoAnn Boyd and Roger Kenton agreed to review the email and propose a response.

4. SOP on Standards Interpretation

The committee reviewed a revised draft of the SOP on standards interpretation working from Anne Marie Allen's revised version. Lance Boynton recorded the specific changes. Key points included changing references to the document as a "policy" to "standard operating procedure". Also, the program administrator will be central record keeper. Lance and June make the changes and circulate by June 22.

Brooke Connor agreed to develop a standard form for submitting a request for standards interpretation. She will circulate the form for comments.

4. Next meeting

The next meeting of the LAC will be July 13, 2007, at 11:00 am EDT. Topics will include developing the agenda for the Cambridge meeting. The program administrator will be on vacation at that time and another scribe will need to be appointed.

Attachment A PARTICIPANTS

TNI

LABORATORY ACCREDITATION COMMITTEE

Member	Affiliation	Contact Information
Ann Marie Allen -absent	Massachusetts, Non-nelac AB	
Jo Ann Boyd - present	Southwest Research Institute, Lab	
Lance Boynton-present	Absolute Standards, Inc., PT	
Brooke Conner-present	USGS	
Lewis Denny-absent	Florida DOH, AB	
George Detsis - absent	Department of Energy, Government	T: 301-903-1488 E: george.detsis@eh.doe.gov
Dan Dickinson-present	New York DOH, AB	
June Flowers -	Flowers Chemical Laboratories,	
Chairperson	Inc., Lab	
Terry Grimes- Absent	Pinellas County Utilities, Municipal Lab	
Dan Hickman-absent	Oregon DEQ, AB	
Marvelyn Humphrey- present	USEPA Region 6, EPA	
Roger Kenton-present	Eastman Chemical Company,	
Judy Morgan-present	Environmental Science Corporation, Lab	
Jack McKenzie-present		
Leyla Perez-absent	Babcock Laboratories, Lab	
Dale Piechocki-absent	Underwriters Laboratories, Inc., Lab	
Ilona Taunton - absent	TestAmerica Analytical Testing Corp., Lab,	
Carol Batterton - present	TNI Administrator	