Summary of the Laboratory Accreditation Committee Meeting November 9, 2007

1. Roll call: Attendance is recorded in Attachment A.

The regular meeting of the TNI Laboratory Accreditation Systems Committee (LASC) was called to order by June Flowers, Chair, on November 9, 2007, at 11:00 a.m. EST.

2. Previous minutes

Minutes from the October 12, 2007, conference call meeting, were reviewed and a request was made to attach the comments regarding PT frequency received from Jane Jensen (CDPH-ELAP), Aaren Alger (PADEP) and Joseph Aiello (NJDEP). Roger Kenton motioned to accept the minutes with corrections, Ann Marie Allen 2nd and all in attendance were in favor.

3. Policy for Mutual Recognition

The LASC briefly reviewed the draft document distributed by Carol Batterton. This document was assembled with all of the remaining NELAC 2003 standard language for recognition that was not placed in the TNI AB module. Decision was made to remove references to NELAC and Federal or State AA's. Carol will trim the SOP language and provide another draft to the LASC.

4. Appeals Resolution SOP Discussion

The AB Expert Committee will draft this SOP and turn it over to the LASC.

5. PT Frequency Discussion

It was suggested by the Program Administrator, Carol Batterton, that the LASC prepare a White Paper summarizing our consensus opinion to present to the PT Expert Committee and the NELAP Board. Each LASC member is requested to provide a brief opinion statement regarding the requirements for future TNI standards. This opinion should include PT testing frequency for FOT categories and corrective action rules for failures.

6. SOP on Standards Interpretation

The LASC and TAC chairs (June Flowers and Barbara Escobar) along with their Program Administrators (Carol Batterton and Susan Johns) will have a meeting with Jerry Parr to discuss communications for FAQs and the Standards Inquiry Form on the TNI website. Currently, this form can be accessed under the LASC page, but is not yet linked to any email addresses as discussed in the SOP. The SOP has not yet been approved by the NELAP Board, so inquiries or questions are not being formally addressed at this time.

7. The next meeting of the LASC will be December 14, 2007, at 11:00 am EST.

Attachment A

PARTICIPANTS

TNI

LABORATORY ACCREDITATION COMMITTEE

Member	Affiliation	Contact Information
Ann Marie Allen - present	Massachusetts, Non-nelap AB	
Jo Ann Boyd - absent	Southwest Research Institute, Lab	
Lance Boynton- present	Absolute Standards, Inc., PT	T: 203-281-2917 E: lanceboynton@mac.com
Brooke Conner- absent	USGS	
Lewis Denny- present	Florida DOH, AB	
George Detsis -	Department of Energy,	T: 301-903-1488
present	Government	E: george.detsis@eh.doe.gov
Dan Dickinson-present	New York DOH, AB	
June Flowers -	Flowers Chemical Laboratories,	T: (407) 339-5984 x212
Chairperson	Inc., Lab	E: june@flowerslabs.com
Terry Grimes- absent	Pinellas County Utilities, Municipal Lab	
Dan Hickman- absent	Oregon DEQ, AB	
Marvelyn Humphrey- absent	USEPA Region 6, EPA	
Roger Kenton-present	Eastman Chemical Company,	
Judy Morgan- present	Environmental Science Corporation, Lab	
Jack McKenzie-present	Kansas DHE, AB	
Leyla Perez- present	Babcock Laboratories, Lab	
Dale Piechocki- absent	Underwriters Laboratories, Inc., Lab	
Ilona Taunton - absent	TestAmerica Analytical Testing Corp., Lab,	
Carol Batterton - present	TNI Administrator	T: 830-990-1029 E: <u>carbat@beecreek.net</u>