Laboratory Accreditation System Executive Committee Meeting Minutes Thursday, December 16, 2021 1:30 pm Eastern

1) Welcome and Introductions

Maria welcomed everyone to the meeting. The meeting date was rescheduled in advance, due to the Christmas holiday. Attendance is recorded in Attachment A. The minutes of November 18 were approved by unanimous vote on a motion by Dorothy seconded by Silky.

2) Updates on the Mentor Session and Assessment Forum for San Antonio

Dorothy reported that the Mentor Session is well set, with her, Silky and Jeanette Hernandez providing presentations, including one on Texas' new process for responding to an audit, and then an interactive session discussing examples of poor responses. Dorothy noted that additional example responses are still welcome. Dorothy will ask Jerry to please avoid the schedule conflicts of this conference, with the Mentor Session overlapping both LASEC and the Chemistry Committee.

Judy Morgan provided the agenda for the Assessment Forum, which will deal with writing assessment findings. Judy Morgan, Calista Daigle, Mitzi Miller, Jeanne Mensingh, Val Slaven and Aaren Alger will form a panel for presentations and discussions around best practices for writing and properly citing references, and then lead an interactive review of findings for good, bad, and missing attributes.

3) Election

Maria turned the meeting over to Dorothy, who asked for additional nominees for Chair (none) and then moved that Maria be re-elected; Silky seconded the motion and approval was unanimous.

Maria then resumed her moderator role for the election to second terms for Silky, Louise, Jack, Bill and Michele. Michele chose to accept a second term last year, but was not formally re-elected, so that she is now proposed for re-election to a 2-year term. Dorothy moved and Mike seconded that the slate of five members be approved for second terms, and approval was unanimous.

Dorothy has completed her two terms on the committee and a new Vice Chair is needed. Maria expressed her hope that Bill would self-nominate for the position, but he had dropped off of the call, and another member expressed a preference that there not be two AB stakeholders as the committee leadership, particularly as the Vice Chair is the "tie-breaker" for non-valid SIRs. Louise then nominated Harold, Harold agreed to serve, and Silky seconded the motion. Approval was unanimous.

NOTE: As these minutes were being prepared, Lynn realized that Harold has already served two full terms and was scheduled to become an associate member. Am checking with TNI leadership (Alfredo and Jerry) to see whether he can remain a voting member in order to serve as Vice Chair.

4) New Business

None.

5) Next Meeting

The next LASEC meeting will be at conference in San Antonio. The session is scheduled for 3:30-5:00 pm Central time. Teleconference capability will not be available.

The next regular teleconference will be Thursday, February 24, 2022, at 1:30 pm Eastern. The agenda and any needed documents will be sent in advance of the meeting.

Attachment A TNI LABORATORY ACCREDITATION SYSTEMS EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ROSTER

Term End INTEREST AFFILIATION

PRESENT

S/H

NAME

EMAIL

	- · · · · · · · · · · ·		Date		1	CATEGORY	
1	Maria Friedman, Chair	gamfriedman@gmail.com	1/23 (first term)	SIRs	CA ELAP	AB	Yes
2	Dorothy Love, Vice Chair	dorothylove@eurofinsus.com	1/22 (2nd term)	Mentor Session	Eurofins Environmental	Lab	Yes
3	Aaren Alger	Aaren.s.alger@gmail.com	1/23 (first term)	SIRs	Alger Consul- ting & Training	Other	No
4	David Caldwell	david.caldwell@deq.ok.gov	1/23 (first term)	Assmt. Fo- rum, SIRs	OK DEQ	NELAP AB	No
5	Sumy Cherukara	Cherukara.sumy@epa.gov	1/23 (2nd term)		EPA R2	Other	No
6	Stacie Crandall	scrandall@hrsd.com	1/24 (first term)	SIRs	Hampton Roads Sanitation Distr.	Lab	No
7	Mike Delaney	mike@mikedelaney.org	1/23 (first term)		Retired (MWRA)	Other	Yes
8	Jack Farrell	aex@ix.netcom.com	1/22 (first term)	Mentor Session	Analytical Excellence	Other	No
9	Silky Labie	elcatllc@centurylink.net	1/21 (first term)	SIRs	ELCAT	Other	Yes
10	Bill Hall	George.Hall@des.nh.gov	1/22 (first term)		NH ELAP	NELAP AB	Yes
11	Harold Longbaugh	harold.longbaugh@houstontx.gov	1/23 (2nd term)	SIRs	Houston Lab	Lab	Yes
12	Louise McGinley	louise.mcginley@tceq.texas.gov	1/22 (first term)	SIRs	TCEQ	NELAP AB	Yes
13	Michele Potter	michele.potter@dep.nj.gov	1/21 (first term)		NJ DEP	NELAP AB	No
	Associate Mei						
	Debbie Bond	DBOND@southernco.com			Alabama Power	Lab	Yes
	Myron Gunsalus	ngunsalus@kdheks.gov			KS Lab Director	NELAP AB	No
	Carl Kircher	carl.kircher@doh.state.fl.us		SIRs	FL DOH	NELAP AB	No
	Mitzi Miller	mitzi.miller@moellerinc.com		Mentor Session & Assmt Forum	Dade Moeller	Other	No
	Judy Morgan	Judy.Morgan@pacelabs.com		Assessment Forum	Pace Analytical	Lab/FSMO	No
	William Ray	Bill_Ray@williamrayllc.com			Wm Ray Consultants	Other	No
	Mohan Sabaratnam	msabaratnam@iasonline.org			IAS	AB (non-gov.)	No
	Scott Siders	siders6six@yahoo.com		Mentor Session	Retired	Other	No
	Nick Straccione	nstraccione@emsl.com		Mentor Session	EMSL	Lab	Yes
	Katie Strothman	katie@sanderslabs.net			Sanders Labs	Lab	No
•	gram Admin. n Bradley	Lynn.bradley@nelac-institute.org					Yes