Summary of the Laboratory Accreditation Systems Committee Meeting March 14, 2008

1. Roll call: Attendance is recorded in Attachment A.

The meeting of the TNI Laboratory Accreditation Systems Committee (LASC) was called to order by June Flowers, Chair, on March 14, 2008 at 11 AM EDT. The meeting was adjourned at 11:25 AM

2. Conference Call Minutes dated February 8, 2008

Terri Grimes motioned to accept minutes, Dan Hickman 2nd, all approved. June will forward to John Applewhite for web posting.

3. SOP on Standards Interpretation - SOP 5-101

The document was reformatted by JoAnn Boyd, and the following revisions were made:

- 1. Removed characters in footer, page 1
- 2. Removed space at 1st character Section 1.1
- 3. Capitalized Interpretation in 2nd paragraph of Summary

The motion to accept these changes and vote to approve SOP 5-101 and pass on to the NELAP Board was made by Terri Grimes, 2nd by Lance Boynton, all in favor. June has forwarded the corrected file to Carol to pass on to the Board for review and approval on their Monday, March 17, 2008 conference call. It was discussed that the Policy Committee may have additional formatting changes.

4. National Data Base Question

Dan Hickman confirmed to Lance Boynton that the 2007 TNI Method Codes listing should be used from now on They are located under the National Data Base page of the TNI website. Dan will send an email to each of the PT Providers to inform them to discontinue using the 2003 NELAC method codes.

5. The next meeting of the LASC will be April 11, 2008, at 11:00 am EST.

Attachment A Participants TNI

LABORATORY ACCREDITATION COMMITTEE

Member	Affiliation	Contact Information
Ann Marie Allen - absent	Massachusetts, Non-nelap AB	
Jo Ann Boyd - absent	Southwest Research Institute, Lab	
Lance Boynton- present	Absolute Standards, Inc., PT	T: 203-281-2917 E: lanceboynton@mac.com
Brooke Connor- absent	USGS	
Lewis Denny- absent	Florida DOH, AB	
George Detsis - present	Department of Energy, Government	T: 301-903-1488 E: george.detsis@eh.doe.gov
Dan Dickinson-present	New York DOH, AB	
June Flowers - Chairperson	Flowers Chemical Laboratories, Inc., Lab	T: (407) 339-5984 x212 E: june@flowerslabs.com
Terri Grimes- present	Pinellas County Utilities, Municipal Lab	
Dan Hickman- present	Oregon DEQ, AB	
Marvelyn Humphrey- absent	USEPA Region 6, EPA	
Roger Kenton-present	Eastman Chemical Company,	
Judy Morgan- absent	Environmental Science Corporation, Lab	
Jack McKenzie-present	Kansas DHÉ, AB	
Dale Piechocki- absent	Underwriters Laboratories, Inc., Lab	
Ilona Taunton - absent	TestAmerica Analytical Testing Corp., Lab,	
Carol Batterton - present	TNI Administrator	T: 830-990-1029 E: <u>carbat@beecreek.net</u>