## Summary of the TNI NELAP Board Meeting September 17, 2007

## 1. Roll call.

Dan Hickman called the TNI NELAP Board meeting to order on September 17, 2007, at 12:30 PM CDT. Attendance is recorded in Attachment 1.

2. Review and approval of minutes

Minutes from the August 23, 2007, meeting in Cambridge were reviewed and approved for posting.

3. Lead Evaluators for AB Recognition Evaluations.

EPA staff has reported to Dan Hickman and the TNI Board that EPA regional evaluators will not automatically be the lead evaluators on this upcoming round of AB recognition evaluations. EPA believes that it sends a better message if the states are lead. EPA regional evaluators are not prohibited from serving as the lead, but it will be up to each Region to decide. The Evaluation SOP will need to be revised to be silent on who serves as the lead evaluator.

4. Role of the Evaluation Coordinator and SOP Revisions

Using the comments from the TNI Board and comments received at the Cambridge meeting, options for revising the duties of the evaluation coordinator (EC) were discussed. The Board agreed to Ken Jackson's proposal that the duties be split into two positions: one would be an administrator and the other a QA officer.

Carol Batterton will revise the SOP to reflect these changes along with the changes in lead evaluator. The revised SOP will be forwarded to Dan Hickman for review, and then sent to the entire board for an email vote to adopt.

5. Identification of State Evaluators

Dan asked for each AB to identify an evaluation team member to be used on this next round of evaluations. It was suggested that LA, LA, OR, and TX should identify an evaluator since they are not up for renewal. LADEQ indicated that they would be willing to provide a person.

There are issues regarding how to pay for the state person's travel. Some states cannot pay for a person to travel out of state, and therefore the AB being evaluated would need to pay. Arrangements for state evaluators' travel will vary from state to state. The EC can coordinate the evaluation team members.

## 6. Next meeting.

The next meeting will be on October 1, 2007 at 1:30 EDT. Dan Hickman and Carol Batterton will not be available for the call. Steve Stubbs will chair the meeting and arrange for a note taker.

Agenda items will include:

Identification of state evaluators

Discussion of the PT frequency issue as requested by the PT Expert Committee

Policies and SOP's to be drafted by the Accreditation Body Committee

## Attachment 1

State	Representative	Present
СА	George Kulasingam T: (510) 620-3155 F: (510) 620-3165 E: <u>gkulasin@dhs.ca.gov</u>	
	Alternate: Jane Jensen, jjensen@dhs.ca.gov	Yes
FL	Stephen Arms   T: (904) 791-1502   F: (904) 791-1591   E: steve_arms@doh.state.fl.us   Alternate: Carl Kircher,   carl_kircher@doh.state.fl.us	Yes
IL	Scott Siders T: (217) 785-5163 F: (217) 524-6169 E: scott.siders@epa.state.il.us Alternate: Jim Shaw, james.shaw@illinois.gov	Yes
KS	Jack McKenzie T: (785) 296-1639 F: (785) 296-1638 E: jmckenzi@kdhe.state.ks.us Alternate: Aurora Shields, ashields@kdhe.state.ks.us	Yes
LA DEQ	Paúl Bergeron T: 225-219-9800 F: 225-219-9898 E: Paul.Bergeron@la.gov Alternate: David Boucher <u>david.boucher@la.gov</u>	Yes
LA DHH	Louis Wales T: (225) 342-8491	Yes

	F: (225) 342-7494 E: <u>lwales@dhh.la.gov</u>	
	Alternate: Ginger Hutto, <u>ghutto@dhh.la.gov</u>	
NH	Bill Hall T: (603) 271-2998 F: (603) 271-5171 E: <u>whall@des.state.nh.us</u>	Yes
	Alternante: Jeanne Chwasciak, jcchwasciak@des.state.nh.us	
NJ	Michael Miller T: (609)292-3950 F: (609) 777-1774 E: <u>michael.w.miller@dep.state.nj.us</u>	Yes
	Alternate: Joe Aiello, joseph.aiello@dep.state.nj.us	
NY	Kenneth Jackson T: (518) 485-5570 F: (518) 485-5568 E: jackson@wadsworth.org Alternate: Dan Dickinson, dmd15@health.state.ny.us	Yes
OR	Dan Hickman T: (503) 229-5983 F: (503) 229-6924 E: hickman.dan@deq.state.or.us	Yes
	Alternate: RaeAnn Haynes, haynes.raeann@deq.state.or.us	
РА	Aaren Alger T: (717) 346-8212 F: (717) 346-8590 E: <u>aaalger@state.pa.us</u>	Yes
	Alternate: Ronald Houck, rhouck@state.pa.us	

TX	Stephen Stubbs	Yes
	T: (512) 239-3343	
	F: (512) 239-4760	
	E: <u>sstubbs@tceq.state.tx.us</u>	
	Alternate: Steve Gibson,	
	jgibson@tceq.state.tx.us	
UT	David Mendenhall	Yes
	T: (801) 584-8470	
	F: (801) 584-8501	
	E: <u>davidmendenhall@utah.gov</u>	
	Alternate: Paul Ellingson,	
	pellings@utah.gov	
	Program Administrator:	Yes
	Carol Batterton	
	T: 830-990-1029 or 512-924-2102	
	E: carbat@beecreek.net	