TNI Logo The NELAC Institute

How to Become an Accredited FSMO

Become familiar with the General Requirements for Accreditation Bodies Accrediting Field Sampling and Measurement Organizations (FSMO-V1-2014), and implement a program to comply with the requirements.

There are new tools to help with implementation of the Standard:

  1. Priority Elements of Management Plan (MP) for Field Sampling and Measurement Organizations (FSMOs) (link): This document contains multiple requirements for an FSMO to address in its Management Plan (MP) to achieve accreditation under the TNI FSMO Standard. The FSMO Subcommittee has prepared this list of priority and secondary MP requirements to help potential FSMOs get started with their accreditation package.
  2. The NEFAP Accreditation Process (link): This document gives an overview of the process to become a NEFAP FSMO.

The new Standard (FSMO-V1-2014) goes into effect on March 15, 2016. If you purchased a copy of the 2007 Standard, please contact Ilona Taunton ( for an updated copy. A comparison between the 2007 verse the 2014 standard can be found by clicking here.

The 4 Accreditation Bodies (ABs) now accepting Field Sampling and Measurement Organization (FSMO) applications are:

ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board
American Association for Laboratory Accreditation (A2LA)
Laboratory Accreditation Bureau (L-A-B)
Perry Johnson Laboratory Accreditation, Inc. (PJLA)

An FSMO Checklist is available to help you prepare. You must own a copy of Volume 1 of the TNI NEFAP Standard that includes the ISO language, or own a copy of ISO 17025, in order to download the checklist.

Questions? Contact Ilona Taunton, NEFAP Program Administrator, at or Kim Watson, NEFAP Executive Committee Chair, at