TNI Logo The NELAC Institute

Whole Effluent Toxicity Testing Expert Committee

It is the mission of this committee to update and maintain the whole effluent toxicity testing Standard (TNI Volume 1, Module 7) based upon public comment, to provide technical assistance on issues related to whole effluent toxicity, to develop tools to aid implementation, and to facilitate the implementation of the Standard.

Conference Calls: 3rd Wednesday, 1:00pm - 2:00pm ET

Contact the Committee Chair or Program Administrator to participate in the calls of this committee.

Open All  Close All

Mission

It is the mission of this committee to update and maintain the whole effluent toxicity testing Standard (TNI Volume 1, Module 7) based upon public comment, to provide technical assistance on issues related to whole effluent toxicity, to develop tools to aid implementation, and to facilitate the implementation of the Standard.

Strategic Goals and Objectives
  • Review and revise the Standard based on input from all stakeholder groups.
  • Ensure that the Standard will produce data of known and documented quality.
  • Provide technical assistance such as responding to Standard Interpretation Requests (SIRs).
  • Provide technical assistance in developing tools to facilitate the implementation of the Standard.
  • Ensure continuity with other TNI Volumes.
  • Utilize existing and future TNI infrastructure and resources to accomplish mission.
Success Measures
  • Improving the Standard by:
  • Clarifying and Updating of the Standard
  • Addressing inconsistencies across EPA method manuals
  • Improving and clarifying quality assurance requirements
  • Clarifying reporting requirements of laboratory performance, such as test sensitivity, test acceptability criteria (TAC), and reference control results 
  • Developing a checklist for requirements for each approved method
  • Developing a checklist for reporting requirements
  • Uniformity of Proficiency Testing requirements in concert with the PTPEC
  • Prompt responses to SIRs
Key Milestones for 2015
  • Develop priority list of committee goals
  • Develop schedule of goals for completion
  • Other committee functions, as needed
Considerations

Committee members are volunteers; limited funding. Committee must maintain a balanced representation from among accreditation bodies, accredited laboratories and “others” (including, among others, EPA, Department of Defense, and third party accreditation bodies).

Available Resources
  • Volunteer committee members
  • TNI Infrastructure
  • Environmental technical community
  • Teleconference services
  • Administrative support
  • Technical editor support
Additional Resources Required
  • Travel funding
Anticipated Meeting Schedule
  • Monthly Committee Teleconferences (open to all Full and Associate Members)
  • Additional committee and subcommittee teleconferences as needed

 

Rami Naddy, Chair
TRE Env. Strat. LLC
Ft. Collins, CO
naddyrb.tre@gmail.com

Lynn Bradley, Program Administrator
The NELAC Institute
Staunton, VA
lynn.bradley@nelac-institute.org

Pete De Lisle, Vice Chair
Coastal Bioanalysts Inc
pfd@coastalbio.com

Ginger Briggs
Bio-Analytical Laboratories
bioanalytical@wildblue.net

Chris Burbage
Hampton Roads Sanitation District
cburbage@hrsd.com

Kari Fleming
WI DNR Bureau of Water Quality
Madison, WI
Kari.Fleming@wisconsin.gov

Amy Hackman
Penn. Dept. Environ. Protection
Harrisburg, PA
ahackman@pa.gov

Teresa Norberg-King
USEPA
Duluth, MN
norberg-king.teresa@epa.gov

Chris Pasch
Alan Plummer Associates, Inc.
cpasch@apaienv.com

Michael Pfeil
Texas Comm. Environ. Quality
Austin, TX
Michael.pfeil@tceq.texas.gov

Michele Potter
New Jersey Dept of Environ Protect.
Trenton, NJ
Michele.Potter@dep.nj.gov

Steven Rewa
Environmental Resources Management
steven.rewa@erm.com

Elizabeth West
LA DEQ LELAP
Baton Rouge, LA
elizabeth.west@la.gov