TNI Logo The NELAC Institute

Standard Interpretation

Standard: NEFAP
Section: 7.11.3 Note
Link to relevant standard


Is there a requirement for an accreditation body to establish a 2 year cycle to re-accredit the FSMO. Are the options in ISO/IEC 17011 7.11.3 b) available for the accreditation body?


Volume 2 Section 7.11.3 does establish a requirement for a two year cycle for re-qualification if the accreditation is based on reassessments alone.

The word "typically", in the note section of 7.11.3 in Volume 2, is used instead of "shall" or "must" and is thus not considered a requirement.